• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

How to improve as an adult

hollyberry

Putting on skis
Skier
Hey everyone,

I have been skiing for about 6 years now, some years with a decent amount of time on the slopes, (25-30 days when I lived near Hunter Mt) but other years, like 2020 & 2021, not a single day because of grad school and lack of money. I’m at the point where I can get down pretty much any terrain, even the tough ungroomed stuff at JH, Snowbird and Mammoth, safely and keeping my speed in check, but I definitely don’t look ‘cool’ doing it, and I suspect that I could be keeping my feet in much better parallel at all times, more balanced stance, etc. I still struggle to get edge on icy steeps a bit and usually just ski straight over true ice patches and look for softer pockets of snow to turn on. I can do various size/ pitch moguls, but again, definitely am not the fastest or most suave-looking on them! I estimate that I have had about 6 or 7 small group ski lessons in total.

I have a few questions:

1. Since I likely will be mostly skiing at my small, local resorts in PA this year (Roundtop, Whitetail) except for a few short trips to Stowe, what are good drills I can do to improve my technique on groomers and less steep slopes?

2. If I can get a friend to video me while skiing, what would be a helpful thing for me to do in the video to ‘diagnose’ potential technical flaws? What are things I should look for when analyzing the video?

3. Any instructor recommendations near Roundtop, Whitetail or Jack Frost? Any adult ski clinics in those areas worth checking out?

4. Do any of those areas run adult race leagues? I am interested in joining one to work on my technique, but it seems like those mountains only have youth race leagues, no ‘beer leagues…’

Thank you!

mdf

entering the Big Couloir
Skier
Team Gathermeister
SkiTalk Supporter